Phillips Family Award in Ethics

The Phillips Family Award in Ethics is presented annually to an undergraduate student from Dartmouth College who has successfully demonstrated strength and interest in applied and professional ethics. Work may be in specific areas, such as medical or legal ethics, or in the broader arena of ethics applied to public life. A prize of $1000 is awarded to each recipient of the winning paper or papers.

The prize was established in 1990 by Gerald Phillips ('47), (Tuck '47) and Howard Phillips ('51), (Tuck '52) to honor their parents and by Stacy Phillips ('80) to honor her grandparents, Helen and Louis Phillips.

Papers due May 31, 2024 by midnight

2023-2024 Guidelines

  • Essays/papers or projects must be completed during the past calendar year (Spring '23 term through the Spring '24 term).
  • Deadline for submission is May 31, 2024 by midnight. Papers or projects must be typed, single-spaced, with all citations and references clearly noted.
  • Suggested minimum page length (12 point font): 10 pages. (shorter papers will be considered for the prize)
  • Theses or final papers for courses may be submitted for consideration.
  • One paper may be submitted per student.
  • Include a brief cover letter with submission that includes your particular interests in applied and professional ethics, previous related work experiences and courses.
  • Your name may appear on the cover page only. Our office will remove your cover and put a numerical code on your paper. Submissions will be judged anonymously.
  • Previous winners are not eligible to apply again.
  • The winning essay/paper or project report may be reproduced, in whole or in part, on the Ethics Institute's website.
  • Apply here.

Congratulations to the 2023 Winners, William Dowling '23 and Jingyi Zhang '23


William Dowling '23

Read William's paper Aristotle on Animals: Teleology and Ethics here. 








Jingyi Zhang

Read Jingyi's paper Critical Interests and Advance Directives of People with Dementia here.




Past Winners

2022, Dhwani Kharel.  Read Caring Across National Boundaries: State Responsibility in Transnational Care Economy here.

2021 Noah Campbell. Noah Campbell's senior thesis, Search for the New Land: Necropolitics, Agonism, and Black Dissociation

2021 winner: Delphine Jrolf's senior thesis, Social Expertise: Understanding the Knowledge, Influence, and Power That Explain American Inequality

2020 winner, Jonah Hirsch's paper.

2019 winner, Ezekiel Vergara's paper.

2018 winner, Samantha Koreman's paper.

2017 winner, Peter Schroen's paper.

2016 winner, Carly Schnitzler's paper.

2015 winner, Iris Liu's paper.

2014 winner, Rebecca Finzi's paper.